Security

DEAL: Turbo Speed VPN. No Log. No Worries.

Turbo Speed VPN

Turbo Speed VPN Stream, game, or download without limits.

ZenMate offer a 2-year license for $90/£71 only – that is, half price for an additional year. We also offer a 15-month license for the price of a 1-year license!

Trusted by over 34 million, It’s Internet security and privacy at its best! The easy application that hides your IP address, encrypts your traffic and protects your privacy. ZenMate VPN encrypts all of your traffic and hides your IP address so that you can surf the internet anonymously.

Unblock restricted websites today with over 30 VPN server locations to choose from including the UK and US.

Features:

  • Turbo Lightning-Fast Speeds
  • 30 Days Money Back Guarantee
  • No Logs, No Worries
  • Instant Setup
  • Go around geo and government restrictions
  • Use Torrents with a peace of mind
  • Watch Netflix, Twitch, Hulu… You name it
  • Unbreakable AES 128 protocol
  • Servers in 30+ locations around the globe!

Limited time offer! Save 44% off 1-Year license (+ 3 MONTHS FREE!), Billed £59.99 £107.88 every year or £35.99 £53.95 every 6 months!

2 Year Licence $90/£71.

Evernote: Two-Step Verification Now Available to Everyone

Evernote / Two-Step Verification

Evernote / Two-Step Verification

Two-factor authentication isn’t an extra or optional layer of protection, it’s a necessary one. Today, all Evernote users—whether paid users or those with free accounts—can turn on this important security feature.

Back in March, after a security breach, Evernote announced it would roll out two-factor authentication. The problem is, when they did, it was only for Premium or Business users.

The company is rolling out optional two-factor authentication today for all user accounts. To turn it on, head to the Security section of your account profile. You’ll also be able to generate one-time codes in case you don’t have access to your phone. (Two-factor authentication often, as in this case, sends a unique code to your mobile device for additional security if you try to log in from an unknown device.)

Two-step verification, also known as two-factor authentication, adds an additional layer of security to the login process, requiring you to enter a special code from your phone, in addition to your regular username and password. The goal of this extra step is to combine something you know (your password) with something only you would have access (your phone).

Setting up two-step verification is straightforward. Just follow the steps in the Security section of Evernote Web. Free users will be required to install an authenticator app on their phones. We recommend Google Authenticator. Premium users can choose to have the code delivered as a text message.

One very important thing to note. As part of the set up process, you will be given a set of one-time codes to use in the event that you are unable to access your phone. Don’t keep these codes in Evernote since you’ll need them when you don’t have access to your Evernote account.

Full Guide: Set up Two-Step Verification »

How to Easily Capture Photos In Snapchat Without the Other Person Knowing

(c) Snapchat | Free for iOS and Android

(c) Snapchat | Free for iOS and Android

We knew that Snapchat security isn’t the best, but not this much! There is a method to easily capture images sent through Snapchap with no technical know-how whatsoever. Just a couple clicks and, boom, that nude is yours to keep forever without the other person knowing about it.

Before there was a method that required multiple steps, a computer and some technical ping pong. But this is super easy, requiring only two actions on your own iPhone:

  • Open the photo in Snapchat before it expires.
  • Take a screenshot by pressing the home and power buttons while keeping a finger on the screen.
  • Double tap the home button to bring up the application bar.

That’s it, you’re done.

Thanks to Raj Vir for his help and for bringing this to our attention. (Source)

Security-Alert: Active links in Messenger 2009 temporarily turned off to prevent a malicious worm!

A particularly malicious worm (a self-replicating computer virus) is currently trying to spread itself through many of the world’s largest instant messaging and social networks, including Windows Live Messenger 2009. We’re very serious about protecting our customers, and are pursuing multiple avenues to help stop its progress. The worm spreads by inserting a link into an IM conversation with a person whose computer is already infected. When someone clicks the link, it opens in a browser, downloads the worm on the recipient’s computer, and then repeats this process.

Normally, when Messenger sees a web address in a conversation it is turned into a hyperlink which, when clicked, automatically opens in a web browser. This feature makes it very easy for the malicious worm to be unknowingly installed on your computer by clicking on the link and being sent to a web site containing the malicious software. We’re pursuing a number of activities to help protect you, working actively with industry experts and law enforcement to help stop this criminal activity.

Most notably, we’ve temporarily turned off active hyperlinks for web addresses sent in IM conversations using Windows Live Messenger 2009. You will still be able to copy a web address and paste it into a browser window if you know it to be safe, but by removing active hyperlinks from Messenger 2009, we’re taking a significant step towards stopping the unintentional spreading of this worm.

Because we’ve now blocked active links in Messenger 2009, starting today, some customers may also see a notification in the main Messenger window warning them that some features might not be available.

Messenger 2011 is not impacted in the same way, thanks to its Link Safety feature. However, we are actively monitoring the situation and investigating different approaches to help protect customers using the latest version of Messenger, should the situation change.

As always, we encourage customers to exercise caution with links to web pages that you receive in IMs, especially if the links are to a web page that you are not familiar with, unsure of the destination of, or suspicious of. Malicious software may be installed in your computer simply by visiting a web page with harmful conteaqnt.

“If you think your computer may have already been infected by a malicious worm, check the , please visit the Source Security TechCenter on Microsoft TechNet, and then download and use the Source malicious software removal tool. For additional help with Messenger, check out the Source Messenger Solution Center

Source Windows Team Blog.

%d bloggers like this: